Cébé Athleten


Yann Dumax


I started Freeride 3 years ago. I got lucky and won the first competition I participated in, in Chamonix on a Qualifier 2*. That reassured me that Freeride was for me. I continued to learn and improve on the Qualifier tour by doing more and more 4*. Last year was my best season on the Qualifier tour with 4 top 5s. I finished 4th in the Qualifier Europe ranking. Thanks to a Wild Card I was able to race this whole season on the legendary Freeride World Tour. Spending a whole season amongst the best made me realize that’s where I belong. It’s been a crazy season! I finished 17th in Hakuba (Japan), 11th at KickingHorse (BC, Canada) and 17th in Fieberbrunn (Austria). After getting my bearings in the first stages, and despite a very encouraging start, I was a bit disappointed to not have succeeded in Austria...I couldn’t save myself from a fall. Next season I have to go back to the Qualifier tour but I’m looking forward to getting back on the FWT!

Yann Dumax

  • Place and date of birth: Sallanches.  August 31,1988
  • Where do you live now: Sallanches
  • At what age did you start your discipline? 27
  •  What are the reasons for having chosen it? Facing untracked slopes, being in touch with nature, managing risks and finding the best line...it motivates me to do my best all the time.
  • What is your main objective in your sports career? My goal is clearly to get back to where I belong and compete with the best on the Freeride World Tour as quickly as possible. I aim to be in the top 5 of the general rankings.
  • What is your main objective in your personal life? I would like to be able to live off my passion. Ski untracked slopes with my friends when I’m traveling and carry on learning about the mountains.
  • Why do you choose us as a partner? I choose Cébé as my partner because their equipment meets my all technical requirements.
  • What do you like the most in our products? Their Freeride oriented design of helmets and goggles. The magnetic lens is a real advantage!
  • Do you have a particular habit, a ritual before a competition? I always check all my equipment the day before a race. On the day of the race, I get into a sort of calm bubble about 10 to 15 minutes before the start. After that, I follow my instinct.
  •  What is your favorite competition spot?
  • I love the Mont-Gond slope in Nendaz. And on the FWT circuit, I also love Fieberbrunn which has very steep, technical slopes.
  •  What is your best memory in your career? My last race in the qualifier for last year’s final in Obergurgl. I was feeling a lot of pressure which helped me do my best. In my opinion, it was my best run yet on a Qualifier.
  • Where is your favorite place to relax? At home in the Chamonix valley, with my family and my girlfriend.
  • What is your favorite holiday destination? Somewhere in the sun where I can do sport and enjoy the beach.
  • What is your favorite song, artist? Macklemore & Ryan Lewis - Thrift Shop Feat. Wanz
  • What is your favorite movie? Inception
  • What is your favorite dish? A good home-made croziflette!
  • What is your favorite activity (besides your sport)? I’m crazy about motorbikes: cross-country, trail, road. Otherwise, all outdoor sports: downhill mountain biking, skateboarding, trampoline, wakesurfing, surfing. The list is endless!
  • Do you have motto? Don't think that when things get tricky that all is lost!