Cébé Athletes

TOGETHER WE ARE STRONGER

VALERIA APOSTOLO

ITALY

Some friends introduced me to freeriding, for me a new way of skiing. It was hard at the beginning because I used the same technique that I adopted on a Giant Slalom course, but learned quickly.  Then in 2011 and 2012 I went to British Columbia, Canada, for the winter season and I fell in love with this sport.
Since, I enjoy competing in freeride world qualifier and also filming around the world.

VALERIA APOSTOLO

  • Place and date of birth: Locarno (Swiss) June 2nd 1987
  • City where you live now: CANNOBIO (Italy)
  • At what age did you start your discipline? I started Alpine ski at 7 years old and discovered Freeride at 23 years old.
  • What are the reasons for having chosen it? I was a bit tired to ski on the slopes. Since I started Freeride, I discovered a complete different way to get in touch with the mountains and the nature. 
  • What is your main objective in your sport career? First of all: having fun while I’m doing it, then being the best version of me as a skier which means: get to know my limits without overstepping them.
  • What is your main objective in your personal life? Improve my skills as a physiotherapist, stay healthy and have a good relationship with my family and my friends 
  • Why do you choose us as partner? For the wearability of your products as well as for their interesting design. 
  • What do you like the most in our products? What I like the most are the helmets, they are light and confortable on the ears.
  • Do you have a particular habit, a ritual before a competition? Eat a banana and do 20 squatts !
  • What is your favorite competition spot? I really enjoyed the competition face in Jasna (Slovakia)
  • What is the best memory in your career? When I reached the podium this year after 3 years of trying to get back on it.
  • What is your favorite place to rest? My home! Which is located in the wood, and is not reachable by cars
  • What is your favorite destination for holidays? Wherever there is untouched nature and a little bit of wilderness!
  • What is your favorite song, artist? I listen a lot of music from electro to reggae.
  • What is your favorite movie? I like Thriller movies as well as movies with Jack Nicholson.
  • What is your favorite dish? Chicken curry ! 
  • What is your favorite activity (except your sport)? Rock Climbing and mountain biking
  • Do you have a motto? " knowing is not enough, we must do. Willing is not enough we must apply."
    Bruce Lee

 

"My best memory during my career was when I reached the podium for my 2nd place at the Freeride World Qualifier of Andorre in 2017"